.NET Tutorials, Forums, Interview Questions And Answers
Welcome :Guest
Sign In
Register
 
Win Surprise Gifts!!!
Congratulations!!!


Post New Web Links

[Book Review] NHibernate 3.0 Cookbook

Posted By: AlecWhittington     Posted Date: April 10, 2011    Points: 0   Category :ASP.Net
 
I was recently given the opportunity to review the latest NHibernate book, NHibernate 3.0 Cookbook by Jason Dentler . If you do any NHibernate development, you need to have this book in your collection. The content is well thought out as well as organized. I started out with NHibernate in January 2008, kicking and screaming. Part of my issue was the use of XML everywhere, coupled with seemingly little to no documentation. Look at us now, oh have the times changed. We now have six books dedicated...(read more)


View Complete Post


More Related Resource Links

Book review: Patterns of Enterprise Application Architecture

  
   Lately I finished reading the famous patterns book by Martin Fowler - Patterns of Enterprise Application Architecture. This book introduces and describes design patterns you will usually see when building enterprise applications. There are also examples for patterns and although they are simple and primitive they give you the idea how to implement or use specific patterns. If you are working on enterprise applications every day you will find this book very useful and I'm sure you will use it as manual. Yes, you can read this book as any other book and you can also use it as manual. In the end of this review you can find table of patterns with links to short introduction for each pattern. Are these patterns platform specific somehow? No, they are not. It doesn't matter what platform or language you are using. Of course, you must know your platform well because some of problems solved in this book maybe also already solved on platform you are working on. Don't try to push all available patterns to your application - use patterns of this book when you face problems that your tools doesn't solve or that your tools solve poorly. Of course, you can consult with this book if you are not sure how to implement one or another pattern in your application. My suggestion is to read this book with two other books (of course, there are more recommended books but le

Beginner's book for ado.net 2.0

  

Hi,

Can anyone suggest me a book for beginners in ADO.NET 2.0 ? 


Smart Client: Building Distributed Apps with NHibernate and Rhino Service Bus, Part 2

  

Smart client applications are responsive and promote interactivity with the user. In this article, we continue building a smart client application using NHibernate for data access and Rhino Service Bus for reliable communication with the server.

Oren Eini

MSDN Magazine August 2010


Smart Client: Building Distributed Apps with NHibernate and Rhino Service Bus

  

Smart client applications are responsive and promote interactivity with the user. In this article, we start the processes of planning and building a smart client application using NHibernate for data access and Rhino Service Bus for reliable communication with the server.

Oren Eini

MSDN Magazine July 2010


Data Access: Building a Desktop To-Do Application with NHibernate

  

Building an NHibernate-based desktop application isn't any harder than building a web application, and in many cases NHibernate simplifies elements of session handling and concurrency.

Oren Eini

MSDN Magazine December 2009


Toolbox: Synchronize Data, Review Runtime Errors, and More

  

This month we bring you products that let you synchronize data, correct runtime errors, and more.

Scott Mitchell

MSDN Magazine August 2006


Review It: Expert Tips for Finding Security Defects in Your Code

  

Reviewing code for security defects is a key ingredient in the software creation process, ranking alongside planning, design, and testing. Here the author reflects over his years of code security reviews to identify patterns and best practices that all developers can follow when tracking down potential security loopholes. The process begins by examining the environment the code runs in, considering the roles of the users who will run it, and studying the history of any security issues the code may have had. After gaining an understanding of these background issues, specific vulnerabilities can be hunted down, including SQL injection attacks, cross-site scripting, and buffer overruns. In addition, certain red flags, such as variable names like "password", "secret," and other obvious but common security blunders, can be searched for and remedied.

Michael Howard

MSDN Magazine November 2003


review, edit and insert data using 2 diffrent database

  

hi,

is it possible to create a custom list in sharepoint designer to enter a vacation request and using a work flow that goes to the HR department. but when the HR department approve the request the HR can store these requested data into another database?

what i mean is, the employee fill a form in to request some vacation days using a custom list in my wss3 site. i assume that these data will be stored in the WSS_content database. now when the HR department get this filled form they have to store the data of the form in to a database but not in the WSS_Content database.

is this possible?


Writing a Telephone Book / Corporate Phone Directory...

  
Hey everyone, I'm attempting to write one aspx page (vb.net back end) that pulls the following using an LDAP query from my active directory and dumps it into either a datagrid or a gridview control.  The fields I want to show from Active directory are;  1. Last Name 2. First Name 3. Office 4. Email 5. Telephone number (primary) 6. Mobile  7. Title 8. Department 9. Company ---- I only want to show the "active" users and then again, dump the results in a dataset and populate a datagrid / gridview control.  Does anyone have any sample code of this or can walk me through on how to do this - thanks in advance... Best regards, Ryan  

Need Form Application to allow user to review spreadsheets and email

  
I need an application to allow a user to see a list of documents/spreadsheets in a directory, click a link to the file, have it open, then review it, close it, then from the form choose to accept or deny it, then have it emailed to a recipient contained in a db or list any good ideas how to accomplish this?  maybe a windows form?    

Document Library and Review Template

  
http://techsolutions.net/Blog/tabid/65/EntryId/17/Fab-40-Templates-for-MOSS-2010.aspx I have Installed the Document Library and Review Template from the above website. 1) The Discussion board for the document library is not working in sharepoint 2010. 2) The Discuss icon is not showing in document library list.  

Cannot Insert records in table using NHibernate

  
I am very much new with NHibernate. I am inserting a new record in the table. However, it seems that it does not insert. What I'm using is Fluent NHibernate.Below is the code which inserts records. public virtual void Save(string CreatedBy) { ISession NHSession = Star.CNPL_BusinessObjects.Common.Session.OpenSession(); ITransaction NHTransaction = NHSession.BeginTransaction(); try { this.Save(CreatedBy, NHSession); NHTransaction.Commit(); NHSession.Flush(); } catch (Exception ex) { NHTransaction.Rollback(); throw ex; } } public virtual void Save(string CreatedBy, ISession Session) { try { if (this.IsPersisted) { this.SaveAuditTrail(Session, false, CreatedBy); Session.SaveOrUpdateCopy(this); } else { Session.Save(this); } } catch (Exception ex) { throw ex; } }

Examples for custom query using nhibernate in asp.net 3.5

  
I am doing a project in which i am using nhiberante ORM, In that they provide default method, but i req. more custom query like getting data by using join, to get particular column, So, i req. help from expert developers, plz help me. Thanks in advanced.

Cannot add record in table using NHibernate

  
Hi there!I'm new to NHibernate and I need help on this issue.No records where inserted in my SQL Table after committing the transaction or after the .Flush() method. I checked the code and it follows the correct sequence of codes. I can't seem to find any other way where the error fails.

Kindly guide me to get a quick start with latest NHibernate Technologies

  
I worked on NHibernate around 4 years ago, now in one of the project I want to implement it again. Can someone share their experiance about latest tools available to speedup the development of NHibernate.I have used a tool to generate ORM Mapping (I think its name was Puzzle.Net), can you also sugesst some good tools for NHibernate.

Book to learn and Develop enterprise application using InfoPath with workflow in MOSS 2007

  
Hi all, I'm new to infopath forms and i dont find much articles to develop enterprise application (I'm coding for an ERP module). I have sys environement of MOSS 2007, windows 2008 (64 bit), MS SQL 2008  Though it is easy to design and publish form to a site,  devloping the form with more business rules and validation seems to be vague for me. So please refer a good book to find the deveopment procedures to master Infopath with workflow integration. it is quite urgent. Thanks Gomathi Sha   sharepoint development

Example of quick and easy domain model that is persistable with NHibernate

  
am looking for the best approach to using NHibernate and MVC.net. I have gone through http://www.codeproject.com/KB/architecture/NHibernateArchitecture.aspx Someone has pointed to the use of Castle project Active record. My aim is to eliminate the need for any nhibernate dependencies within my domain. I want a quick and easy domain model that is persistable with NHibernate. Can I have a simple example and and some explanations please from which I can learn to use the castle project to build a simple application in MVC.net. Thanks am looking for the best approach to using NHibernate and MVC.net. I have gone through http://www.codeproject.com/KB/architecture/NHibernateArchitecture.aspx Someone has pointed to the use of Castle project Active record. My aim is to eliminate the need for any nhibernate dependencies within my domain. I want a quick and easy domain model that is persistable with NHibernate. Can I have a simple example and and some explanations please from which I can learn to use the castle project to build a simple application in MVC.net. Thanks
Categories: 
ASP.NetWindows Application  .NET Framework  C#  VB.Net  ADO.Net  
Sql Server  SharePoint  Silverlight  Others  All   

Hall of Fame    Twitter   Terms of Service    Privacy Policy    Contact Us    Archives   Tell A Friend