I have recently upgraded to SQL Management Studio 2008. The first thing I noticed is it wouldn't allow me to save changes to my table structure at all. I fixed this by disabling "Prevent Saving Changes that requre table re-creation" under Tools..Options...Designers...Table and Database Designers. Now it lets me save. However, if I rename a column in a table that has data in it, I get a warning telling me my data will be lost since the old column will be gone and the new column has no data in it. Since when does renaming a column require a table to be recreated? Is this some sort of setting in SQL Management Studio? If I can't don things like rename clolumns (even change column data types) without losing all my data, then what is the point of using SQL management studio?
View Complete Post