This sounds bizzare, I tried it on an OOTB publishing site.
I have a page X in site A. Page X has version 1.0 and 2.0 approved and published, no minor versions anywhere. I choose to move page X to site B. Page X now has revision history version 1.0 (published and available) and version 1.1, which is exactly
the same as version 2.0 but no longer visible to the outside world.
So the first problem is that moving a page makes a previously published and overwritten version of the page content available again. If I publish the page it goes to version 2.0, but I have to remember to do this. Also because I approve the page, my user
id is associated with the publication of the content (which is sorta ok) but the original author of version 2.0 has now presumably been lost to the ether ... or the green swirling icon of death.
But I don't publish page X because I think "oops I meant to move page Y" and move it back to site A, without first publishing version 1.1. Now I have version 0.1 and 0.2. 0.1 matches the original version 1.0, and version 0.2 matches the original
version 2.0, however the best bit is that the timestamps are such that version 0.1 is now checked in
after version 0.2.
I then publish the page, I now have version 0.1 and 1.0, where 0.1 matches the original version
View Complete Post