We wish to disable the "Tags and Notes" feature on our SharePoint 2010 site. When I remove the "Use Social Features" permission from the "User Profile Service Application" this also removes the "My Site" link from the drop down at the top of the page.
Why on earth would this happen? According to the TechNet page on social features (http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee721063.aspx) the Use Social Features permission "Includes
social tags, Note Board, and ratings." Nothing in there indicates that it would remove the link to My Site.
My Site continues to work of course, it is just that the link is removed (which confuses users).
We want to disable Tags and Notes but leave the link to My Site. Is there a way?
View Complete Post