.NET Tutorials, Forums, Interview Questions And Answers
Welcome :Guest
Sign In
Win Surprise Gifts!!!

Top 5 Contributors of the Month
david stephan
Gaurav Pal
Post New Web Links

WSS 3.0 Preview: Discover Significant Developer Improvements In SharePoint Services

Posted By:      Posted Date: August 21, 2010    Points: 0   Category :ASP.Net

More Related Resource Links

Getting Started with Windows SharePoint Services

Of all of the capabilities of SharePoint, I thought I would start with the most basic installation - as a corporate intranet. It is likely that we will need to discuss some of the elements of SharePoint as we go along, so this also gives us the opportunity to review these elements for future reference.

Before going into too much detail, I would like to point out that you can try the core SharePoint framework (known as Windows SharePoint Services or WSS) for free. On Microsoft's Web site you can download a trial version of Virtual PC 2004 (VPC). Using VPC, you can install the Windows 2003 Evaluation Kit and the WSS add-on. This combination will give you 45 days to evaluate the setup.

Building a Searchable Phone Directory with Windows SharePoint Services

I want to continue to build out the intranet site we've started in our previous articles. A standard item in every intranet is a staff/employee list. Most companies implementing Windows SharePoint Services (WSS) are large enough to have a database that contains all employees. We will use the aggregation features of SharePoint to include data from this database into our intranet.

New Features in Windows SharePoint Services 3.0

Windows SharePoint Services 3.0 (WSS 3.0) is the next version of WSS 2.0, released on 2007, and Microsoft Office SharePoint Server 2007 (MOSS 2007) is built on top of this. Windows SharePoint Services 3.0 takes full advantage of Microsoft ASP.NET 2.0 and the core Microsoft .NET 2.0 runtime. WSS 3.0 offers a lot of new features and programmability support. I have consolidated a list of new features and enhancements in the below section:

Microsoft SharePoint Online Standard Developer Guide

Developers Guide for SharePoint Online (Standard Offer). Microsoft® Office SharePoint® Online is a collection of Web-based tools and technologies built on Microsoft Office SharePoint Server 2007 that help you store, share, and manage digital information within your company. This white paper describes the customization (or extensibility) capabilities that are supported with the Standard offering of SharePoint Online

Office Services: Merging Word Documents on the Server Side with SharePoint 2010


Office 2010 and SharePoint 2010 include a new set of components called Application Services. These put a rich set of tools in a developer's bag for Office automation. We'll show you how to use Office OpenXML, Word Automation Services and SharePoint to build a simple application that merges separate status reports into a single document.

Manvir Singh, Ankush Bhatia

MSDN Magazine July 2010

SharePoint 2010 and BCS: Using Business Connectivity Services in SharePoint 2010


Kirk Evans shows how to take advantage of SharePoint 2010 Business Connectivity Services (BCS) to develop solutions with deep integration of external data and services. BCS builds upon its BDC predecessor in the key areas of presentation, connectivity, tooling and lifecycle management.

Kirk Evans

MSDN Magazine December 2009

Workflow Essentials: Collaborative Workflow Improvements in SharePoint 2010


In this article, the author covers the new features in SharePoint 2010 geared for workflow developers and then walks the reader through a couple of new user scenarios.

Paul Andrew

MSDN Magazine November 2009

Take Control: Use SharePoint to Manage Your Windows Services


In this article, we show you how to integrate a Windows Services-based solution with SharePoint. The results enable you to provision, start, stop, and remove service instances through SharePoint 3.0 Central Administration.

Pav Cherny

MSDN Magazine April 2009

Single Sign-On: A Developer's Introduction To Active Directory Federation Services


Use Active Directory Federation Services to allow other organizations to use your Web applications without the need for you to grant access explicitly.

Keith Brown

MSDN Magazine November 2006

Reporting Services: Deliver SQL Server Reports To SharePoint To Enhance Team Collaboration


The solution covered here includes a custom SharePoint Web service that accepts SQL Server-generated report files and, through the WSS object model, stores the file in the appropriate library for enhanced collaboration possibilities.

Ed Hild

MSDN Magazine March 2006

SharePoint: Add a Recycle Bin to Windows SharePoint Services for Easy Document Recovery


Windows SharePoint Services helps improve collaboration and workflow while protecting documents and intellectual property. But one feature is conspicuously missing - an easy way to back up and restore deleted files from document libraries. In this article, the authors take advantage of the extensibility of WSS and its server-side and client-side object models to build a restore feature that works like the Recycle Bin in Windows Explorer.

Maxim V. Karpov and Eric Schoonover

MSDN Magazine February 2005

Web Parts: Use Windows SharePoint Services as a Platform for Building Collaborative Apps, Part 2


Microsoft Office SharePoint Portal Server 2003, which is part of the Office System, lets you create and manage virtual servers, site collections, sites, workspaces, and users. You can also use the Windows SharePoint Services object model to design and implement user-targeted applications. In the second part of a two part series, the authors take a look at the WSS and SPS object models, Web Part Page anatomy, creating and deploying Web Parts, and Web Part security. They also discuss Web Part infrastructure and how to create custom Web Parts.

Jason Masterman and Ted Pattison

MSDN Magazine August 2004

SharePoint: Use Windows SharePoint Services as a Platform for Building Collaborative Applications


In this article the authors provide an in-depth examination of the architecture of SharePoint products and technologies: WSS and SPS. WSS provides the foundation for creating collaborative Web sites that support customization and personalization and SPS complements WSS by playing the role of a content aggregator. This article explains how.

Jason Masterman and Ted Pattison

MSDN Magazine July 2004

Approve/Reject a document using Sharepoint web services


Is there a way to approve / reject a file that has been published on sharepoint 2007 using web services only?

Say there is a document 'A.xls' that was published as a major version by the author. I want the admin to be able to approve/reject it from a site outside the Sharepoint application. I know there is a workflow involved in this, but is there a web service that exposes the functionalities attributed to this workflow?


Problem when installing Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Reporting Services Add-in for Microsoft SharePoint


I have configured the SharePoint Production Server(Standalone) with WS 2008 64 bit version, SQL Server 2005 with SP3 , Visual Studio 2008 and MOSS 2007(SP3). I have configured SSRS 2005 in SharePoint integration mode. Everything works fine till the last step. Now, i am trying to install Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Reporting Services Add-in for Microsoft SharePoint Technologies feature and failed. I am getting below error message.

Product: Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Reporting Services Add-in for Microsoft SharePoint Technologies -- You must first install SharePoint Server before installing SQL Server 2005 Reporting Services Add-in for SharePoint Technologies

Any help will be very appreciated!


Reporting Services in SharePoint integration - configurtion errors in 64bit version



We have build an MOSS 2007 environment on 64 bit servers. We build the reporting services server and configured in SharePoint integration mode. Initially configuration looks fine with reporting services integration with green indicators.


After creating a web application and accessing the web site from the report servor, i have found the following errors:


Server Error in '/' Application.

Configuration Error
Description: An error occurred during the processing of a configuration file required to service this request. Please review the specific error details below and modify your configuration file appropriately.

Parser Error Message: Could not load file or assembly 'RSSharePointSoapProxy, Version=, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=89845dcd8080cc91' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot fi

ASP.NetWindows Application  .NET Framework  C#  VB.Net  ADO.Net  
Sql Server  SharePoint  Silverlight  Others  All   

Hall of Fame    Twitter   Terms of Service    Privacy Policy    Contact Us    Archives   Tell A Friend