.NET Tutorials, Forums, Interview Questions And Answers
Welcome :Guest
Sign In
Win Surprise Gifts!!!

Top 5 Contributors of the Month
Gaurav Pal
Post New Web Links

Code Reviews: Find and Fix Vulnerabilities Before Your Application Ships

Posted By:      Posted Date: August 21, 2010    Points: 0   Category :ASP.Net

Code defects can be found using many approaches, but manual code reviews stand out in terms of precision and quality. We provide some best practices for planning and executing code reviews on your own team.

M. Chmielewski, N. Clift, S. Fonrobert, and T. Ostwald

MSDN Magazine November 2007

View Complete Post

More Related Resource Links

How to Find out Windows service application path from Code ?

Dear frnds, Could you please help me to find out the path of  windows serivce exe ( application path ) from code?   Regards. Sajid P K  

Ho to fire the Application Error in asax from the code?


 Hi All,

I have this code in Global.asax but it not firing once an error occured:


void Application_Error(object sender, EventArgs e)



        // Get the error details

        HttpException lastErrorWrapper = Server.GetLastError() as HttpException;

        Exception lastError = lastErrorWrapper;

        if (lastErrorWrapper.InnerException != null)

        lastError = lastErrorWrapper.InnerException;



        string lastErrorTypeName = lastError.GetType().ToString();

        string lastErrorMessage = lastError.Message;

        string lastErrorStackTrace = lastError.StackTrace;



Please help me so I can call this method from any page?

Thaxxxxxxxxxxxxx a lot,



Performance: Find Application Bottlenecks with Visual Studio Profiler


We will introduce you to the Visual Studio Profiler by walking through a sample performance investigation, pinpointing code inefficiencies in some sample applications.

Hari Pulapaka and Boris Vidolov

MSDN Magazine March 2008

Crash Course: Analyze Crashes to Find Security Vulnerabilities in Your Apps


Here the authors analyze program crashes to help you understand if you have the potential for read or write violations in your applications, and how they can lead to security vulnerabilities.

A. Abouchaev, D. Hasse, S. Lambert, and G. Wroblewski

MSDN Magazine November 2007

Toolbox: Find Bottlenecks, Code Similarities, and More


This month, find performance and memory bottlenecks, essential security reading, and more.

Scott Mitchell

MSDN Magazine July 2007

Are You in the Know?: Find Out What's New with Code Access Security in the .NET Framework 2.0


Unlike role-based security measures, code access security is not based on user identity. Instead, it is based on the identity of the code that is running, including information such as where the code came from. Here Mike Downen discusses the role of code access security (CAS) in .NET and outlines some key new features and changes in CAS for the .NET Framework 2.0.

Mike Downen

MSDN Magazine November 2005

Testing: Perform Code Coverage Analysis with .NET to Ensure Thorough Application Testing


When running your tests how do you know which parts of your product code are actually executed and tested? This article presents a complete system called Fundamental Function code coverage that operates at the method level. The author gives an overview of the system so you can understand code coverage principles, explains the key parts of the underlying code, and discusses how code coverage fits into the overall product development cycle. After reading this article you will be able to perform code coverage analysis on any .NET software system.

James McCaffrey

MSDN Magazine April 2004

C# and the Web: Writing a Web Client Application with Managed Code in the Microsoft .NET Framework


When the author wanted to build a middleware Web client to connect to other applications over the Internet, he realized that the XMLHttpRequest COM object was not sufficient for his purposes. In order to build a Web client using managed code, the author had to use the HTTPWebRequest and HTTPWebResponse classes provided by the Microsoft .NET framework. These classes are used in the sample project as a substitute for the less powerful XMLHttpRequest COM object, allowing the author to build a full-featured Web client. They also take advantage of all the benefits that the CLR and managed code have to offer.

Avi Ben-Menahem

MSDN Magazine September 2001

Resume SharePoint Services Web Application and returns code 1387 error


Hello everyone! Newbie here. I would like to ask how to start the SharePoint Services Web Application on (WSS3.0,internal database, stanalone users) without getting error 1387 ?

I would love to provide more information regarding this issue but what I got is error 1387 displayed in the browser.

I look forward to seeing you guys feedback from your expertise angle.



Where can I find the code of the Twitter or Facebook or WebGrid helpers?


Just in general, where can I find the code to take a look at and learn from them? Or at least look at the functions available to me as I do get the feeling that the insufficient documentation at the moment reveals all.

I'm pulling out my hair,hard to find a suitable mvc sample application to learn from

I've noticed several samples in the url:http://www.asp.net/mvc/application-developmentbut,nerddinner seems too hard for me ;MVC MusicStore cannot run in my computer. seems it use sql2008&i have sql2005 installed in my computerASP.NET MVC Storefront Starter Kit        even worse  after i've download the source code from codeplex as told by the author, just find that I  can not compiled it  in vs2010(it's deveplopped using vs2008)and it seems out of date(the project begun at 2008),actually i wanna find a sample written after 2010.And I hope the sample is classic   and easy to learn,  and the technology used should not turn out to be a past after a new version of mvc or .net framework released.Anyone can help me out?

unable to find a version of the runtime to run this application

I have an application written using Visual studio 2005 (in VB.Net). When I run it on any machine I get "unable to find a version of the runtime to run this application” and this same application successfully some other PCs   And these following processes I have already done: Repair and reinstall .net framework2.0 I also rebuild my application setup. Scan my PC with antivirus and install new updated antivirus I have format my pc and reinstall dotnet framwork2.0 and my project. And also download .net framework cleanup tool install it.     So if any one has solution excluding the above then plz give me as soon as possible.      

Cannot find Manage services under Service Application of Central admin

We have Intranet solution based on SharePoint 2010 small farm. Somehow we don't see Manage services on server under the Service Applications in the central admin. Portal seem to work otherwise fine. When we opened the page to browser http://servername:14082/_admin/Server.aspx we received error: Access denied. We have tried to login with Admin, SP_Farm and SP_Admin user, but access denied every time. I checked who have Full user rights in the Central admin. It is SP_Admin Admins of the Sitecollection is SP_admin and Administrator. Why this happens?Kenny_I

code to run visual basic application in between desktop icon and wallpaper

Plex can anyone of you tell me the visual basic net code to make the application run between desktop icon and background wallpaper . it mean if that application is running in background the icon in the desktop should be selectable...  pleax send you code to me ....    

More illusive code (an inline style I can't seem to find)

I just *thought* was done. The issue is with the tree view in a document center. So with the help of the IE Developer Tools, I've managed to narrowed it down to an inline style but it doesn't tell me where that inline style resides (unlike everything else listed).  The culprit is a font-size:1em. The code in the source is: <td><img src="/_layouts/images/tvblank.gif" alt="" /></td><td><a href="javascript:_spNavigateHierarchy(this,'TreeViewDataSource','30:ListNode:df253e52-42eb-498a-8fc9-7bfabf220bfb:bbd65828-90c9-4b75-b4a8-ac304d01744e:160e6be3-d556-4fb9-887e-c1204f716aab','\u002fit\u002fPMO\u002fIntranet\u002fDocuments',false,'ListNode')" title="Documents" id="ctl00_PlaceHolderLeftNavBar_WebTreeViewt0i" tabindex="-1"><img src="/_layouts/images/itdl.gif" alt="Documents" style="border-width:0;" /></a></td><td class="ms-navitem ctl00_PlaceHolderLeftNavBar_WebTreeView_2" style="white-space:nowrap;"><a class="ctl00_PlaceHolderLeftNavBar_WebTreeView_0 ms-navitem ctl00_PlaceHolderLeftNavBar_WebTreeView_1" href="javascript:_spNavigateHierarchy(this,'TreeViewDataSource','30:ListNode:df253e52-42eb-498a-8fc9-7bfabf220bfb:bbd65828-90c9-4b75-b4a8-ac304d01744e:160e6be3-d556-4fb9-887e-c1204f716aa

find control in datalist by javascript(Not by Code Behind CS Page or ItemDatabound)


Hello all,

I am facing a problem with javascript.Following is the scenario:

I am working on survey application......

I have taken a datalist in which the question in survey are bound in a label control

now user can change color of the question using color picker

color picker have a popup which is closed when user selects a color and

the color of question will be updated as popup closes

So i have to find label control(in which i bound questions)

in datalist by javascript only (not by Cs page or by itemdatabound event because of color picker popup i can not use cs page)

and update the color of label selected by color picker

I googled and found following code but it show null value

var lbl = document.getElementById('<%= Page.Master.FindControl("ContentPlaceHolder1").FindControl("dList").FindControl("lblQuestion") %>');

when I saw the page source following id is generated for label

and so on


Where can i place this line of code so that its accessible thruout my entire web application?


Currently im capturing the users name during certain functions, so at the moment, i have the line below within each event that i need that information. Instead of having that line everywhere, cant iplace that line in a class or something so that i can just access it by "usn" string usn = User.Identity.Name.ToString();

ASP.NetWindows Application  .NET Framework  C#  VB.Net  ADO.Net  
Sql Server  SharePoint  Silverlight  Others  All   

Hall of Fame    Twitter   Terms of Service    Privacy Policy    Contact Us    Archives   Tell A Friend