View Complete Post
I have document libraries with the following settings: major & minor versioning enabled, checkout required & 'only users who can edit items' can see draft (minor) items. The problem is when a user uploads a document (the first document), the library
appears empty. However, looking at the summary in 'view all site content' we see that the number of items in the list has incremented by 1. Typically, if the user selects explorer view they can also see the document they just uploaded.
Similar behaviour occurs using the 'New document' option. Before checking in the document for this first time it is visible in the library. If it is checked in as v 0.1 it 'disappears' if it is checked in as v 1.0 it is visible.
I have noticed that if I toggle the Draft Item Security setting by setting it to 'any user who can read items' then set it back immediately to 'only users who can edit items' that the previously hidden items become visible. And any new minor versions created
subsequently are also displayed correctly. I can of course do this for existing libraries, but if new libraries are created based on my template this behaviour reoccurs.
Has anyone seen this before?
One way that Web sites and applications become better able to meet the needs of customers is by allowing them to personalize their experience. For Web sites, this means displaying the content as the user wants to see it. For rich-client applications, this often means allowing the user to choose the user interface through a technique known as skinning, which is similar to themes in Windows XP. This article shows how you can apply skinning to Web sites, wrapping their functionality in a new user interface. The technique uses the rich XML classes in the .NET Framework and the built-in extensibility of ASP.NET.
MSDN Magazine March 2003
I am trying to create mysite for FBA Users programatically (FYIP: I have done all the configurations for FBA in SSP and mysite host and I am able to create mysite from UI for FBA Users). The problem exists only when I am creating MySite programatically!!!CODE:
EventLog.WriteEntry("MySiteCreate", How to stop unauthorized users from sending documents to a Records Center site? I can't find a way to stop unauthorized users from sending documents to a Records Center site. Can someone please help me? Do i need to configure anything to restrict it to the members of the web submitters group?
I'm still using MOSS2007
The impossibility of doing things depends on your will to do it.
I can't find a way to stop unauthorized users from sending documents to a Records Center site. Can someone please help me? Do i need to configure anything to restrict it to the members of the web submitters group?
I'm still using MOSS2007
My code adds a EventReceiver to some SPLists. When I log into Sharepoint as Administrator, then the EventReciever is fired.
When i log in as an other user, it does nothing.
My current code is this:
string assm = "Minimizer, Version=" + FileVersionInfo.GetVersionInfo(Root.Res.DLL).FileVersion + ", Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=d2d19387a15c363f";
string cls = "MinimizerPlugin.Minimizer";
l.EventReceivers.Add(SPEventReceiverType.ItemUpdated, assm, cls);
l.EventReceivers.Add(SPEventReceiverType.ItemAdded, assm, cls);
What can I do to register this EventReceiver to all users?
Thanks for your help!!
We are running MOSS 2007 Stand-alone server on server 2003 SP2.
We had perfectly running MOSS site with Document Libraries and Custom Lists with almost 10 subsites.
Suddenly today no one can edit or upload any new items or documents.
Under "Site Permissions", all the users have "Limited Access" permission level including Site Admins as well.
I have logged in as Site Admin and "Edit user Permission" under "Site Permissions" is not available anymore.
I know its a security issue but is there any way I can reset the security settings on Parenet Site.
(All the the subsites inherit security from the parent site)
Hi, perhaps someone could help me with a problem. I have sharepoint 2003 running on a windows 2003 server as part of a deployment of microsoft learning gateway, it's set up with a hierarchical structure whereby there is a site for students and a site for
teachers. Until today it was able to understand to which site you belong and redirect you to the correct site. This is based on the web site field in AD, teachers have a URL for their site and students one for theirs. Admins like me who have both URLs in AD
get a page where we can choose which site. Thus meaning all users go to one url eg
http://portal.schoolname.com and are then sent to either
http://portal.schoolname.com/teacher or http://portal.schoolname.com/students or a page with both urls listed.
This has now stopped working, now they get a page saying
You cannot view this area, either because the area no longer exists, or because you do not have the rights to view this area. To change your rights, contact the site administrator. "
Going directly to the correct URL works but ideally i want it back the way it was. Any advice would be great.