.NET Tutorials, Forums, Interview Questions And Answers
Welcome :Guest
Sign In
Win Surprise Gifts!!!

Top 5 Contributors of the Month
Gaurav Pal
Post New Web Links

Getting error when trying to fetch the preview of reports

Posted By:      Posted Date: September 04, 2010    Points: 0   Category :WPF
Hi, This is the error I am getting when I try to generate the preview of the report existed in OEMCRM reports cannot be run because the connector for Microsoft SQL Server Reporting Services, a required componentfor reporting, is not installed on the server that is running Microsoft SQL Server Reporting Services. Help me if you have any ideas.

View Complete Post

More Related Resource Links

2008 R2 Tuning Advisor reports "Error: Exception encountered(DTAEngine)"

I am encountering an error when I try to use the SQL 2008 R2 Database Engine Tuning Advisor. I create a very simple workload (either by right-clicking a query in SSMS or by loading a file), and click Start Analysis.  In the "Consuming Workload" step DTA aborts, and in the message column displays "Error: Exception Encountered(DTAEngine)". When I click on the error message, I get a dialog box with a title of DTAEngine, and a message "Error: Exception encountered". This is a clean test environment (SQL 2008 R2 Data Center Edition 64-bit, on Windows Server 2008 R2 64-bit, in a VM) against a local database. Any ideas about what the problem is or how to resolve it? See below for detailed version information: 10.50.1600.1 RTM Data Center Edition (64-bit) Database Engine Tuning Advisor      10.50.1600.1 Microsoft Data Access Components (MDAC)      6.1.7600.16385 Microsoft MSXML      3.0 6.0 Microsoft Internet Explorer      8.0.7600.16385 Microsoft .NET Framework      2.0.50727.4952 Operating System      6.1.7600    

Report Builder 3 report preview error in SharePoint integrated mode

Hello folks! I've faced some strange error with RB 3.  My environment is: Win 2008R2+SQL2008R2 CU3+Sharepoint Foundation services 2010 SharePoint services integrated with Reporting Services.  When I try to run RB3 from SharePoint library and built some report I get strange error at the previw screen : Failed to preview report. The item 'http://myserver/cd6409dc-1089-4e8a..' cannot be found. Details: System.Web.Services.Protocols.SoapException: The item 'http://myserver/cd6409dc-1089-4e8a-a2a4-f231c97039aa' cannot be found. ---> Microsoft.ReportingServices.Diagnostics.Utilities.ItemNotFoundException: The item 'http://myserver/cd6409dc-1089-4e8a-a2a4-f231c97039aa' cannot be found.    at Microsoft.ReportingServices.WebServer.ReportingService2010Impl.CreateReportEditSession(String Report, String Parent, Byte[] Definition, String& EditSessionID, Warning[]& Warnings)    at Microsoft.ReportingServices.WebServer.ReportingService2010.CreateReportEditSession(String Report, String Parent, Byte[] Definition, String& EditSessionID, Warning[]& Warnings)  The most intresting thing, that my test environment with Win 2008R2 CTP+SQL2008R@ Nov CTP is working properly without any error. Could you please advise how to resole this problem? Thanks in advance, Andre.  

Deploy Reports Error (VS2008) to 2005 ReportServer Db...

Hi, i'm trying to deploy a report made in Visual Studio 2008 to a ReportServer Data Base 2005, but a get this error...   Error 2 The report definition is not valid.  Details: The report definition has an invalid target namespace 'http://schemas.microsoft.com/sqlserver/reporting/2007/01/reportdefinition' which cannot be upgraded.    Is it posible to use a SQL 2005 DB with Rdl's reports 2008   thanks

CS0102 Error on ReportViewer reports using VS2010 Professional

I am trying to build reports using the ReportViewer feature in Visual Studio 2010 Professional and I am encountering the following error when I try to run the aspx page containing the report.Compiler Error Message: CS0102: The type 'SupApps_SecurityDataSet' already contains a definition for '_schemaSerializationMode'The error is stating the issue is on line 27 of the file but I dont see how to view the code on a rdc file in Visual Studio.HERE IS THE CODE FOR THE ASPX PAGE<%@ Page Language="VB" AutoEventWireup="false" CodeFile="QMDailyJournalReport.aspx.vb" Inherits="reports_QMDailyJournalReport" %> <%@ Register assembly="Microsoft.ReportViewer.WebForms, Version=, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b03f5f7f11d50a3a" namespace="Microsoft.Reporting.WebForms" tagprefix="rsweb" %> <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd"> <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml"> <head runat="server">     <title></title> </head> <body>     <form id="form1" runat="server">     <div>              <rsweb:ReportViewer I

The expression contains undefined function call MyUserFunction() error :Telerik Reports

  Hello All, I am getting the error."An error has occured while processing textbox:The expression contains undefined function call FormType()". I have a report..where in i used a user function called "FormType". My datasource  for teh report is sharepoint list. I am passing a parameter to the user function in the code.My user functions retrieves three values(one each time based on the conditions)But when i select the user function..in the edit expression dialog box.. i am not writing any parameter inside the user function as i am not sure what to write there. I have gone through http://www.telerik.com/support/kb/reporting/designing-reports/the-expression-contains-undefined-function-call-myuserfunction-error.aspx and thought i might fall in 2nd cateogry..but unable to find a solution for that Please help me. Here is the code. InitializeComponent();             string strType;             SPSite oSite = new SPSite("spsiteurl");             SPWeb oWeb = oSite.OpenWeb();             string[] parameters = { "10", "100", "1000" };             T

Error occuring while exporting larger reports to Excel from SharePoint



I have SSRS configured in SharePoint integration mode. I have reports deployed. if a user wants to export the report to an excel file works fine for smaller reports. But, in the case of larger reports it is throwing me an error while doing export to Excel. I am getting message like

An unexpected error has occured.

Example: Monthly reports are exporting to excel file fine. Where as, Yearly report has more data than the monthly reports. If I try to export these reports, I am getting above error. I must sure, this is something to do with the IIS time out or application time out(setting in web.config file of web application). Please some one guide me where is best place to do this.

Viewing works fine for both the reports.

I appreciate your help.



Server Error in '/Reports' Application.


Hi All,

i have successfully deployed report in to sharepoint and it creates Reports folder automatically. when i try to click on that folder it gives me below error. Please help Description: An error occurred during the processing of a configuration file required to service this request. Please review the specific error details below and modify your configuration file appropriately.

Parser Error Message: Cannot use 'partitionResolver' unless the mode is 'StateServer' or 'SQLServer'.

Source Error:

Line 186:  <machineKey validationKey="F771D052DF0BBA5CDA4B98FECA1F30645C7EFFB5A57CDFAF" decryptionKey="DB45B12512A41882B11FF4BD7E822B2456A375D48F3C8E15" validation="SHA1" />
Line 187:  <!--<sessionState mode="InProc" timeout="200" allowCustomSqlDatabase="true" partitionResolverType="Microsoft.Office.Server.Administration.SqlSessionStateResolver, Microsoft.Office.Server, Version=, Culture=n

Reports rendered in R2 now give an error ; Must be non-negative and less than the size of the collec


Hi, the full error is

An error occurred during client rendering. Index was out of range. Must be non-negative and less than the size of the collection. Parameter name: index

We have many reports that were working fine on the old 2008 business intelligence reporting services.  When we launched the rdls on a R2 bids server, we received the above error.

The way we fixed this was by trial and error and found a text box caption and text box expression that was too 'skinny'. We widened it vertically and it worked. No widths were negative numbers, just too 'skinny' it seemed.  Again, the text box vertical width worked fine in the old bids.

Ok, so what's our problem?  Well, we have dozens of reports now throwing this error.  The field text boxes are not all the same on the reports. We can go through each report and spend an hour trying to figure out what text box is the problem. This will be time consuming. Any patches from ms or advice how to do this quickly???


Error while Rendering Reports(Reporting Services 2005) in .Net 1.1 web Application on IIS 6.0


I developed an ASP.net 1.1 web application that is written in VS2203 and I am using Reporting Services 2005 to render some reports in PDF Format. My problem was it is working fine in local (XP) and Production environment (Windows 2003 Server).fromo long back the solution was not working for my integration Server which has windows 2003 Server (1.1) and we installed the 2.0,3.5 frameworks. It is throwing an Object refernce error while render the report. Is there any permisions or  something missing.

I have wasted so much time in a finding a solution and I appreciate any help in that.

Getting Timeout expired error in Local reports


Hi all,

I am using local reports(rdlc) fils for reports generation in asp.net I am getting timeout expired error when i have more number of records. I am able to view the preview if there is less number of records. I have also added following code in by Submit button. I have tried by giving Connect TimeOut=3600 in Web.confing file at Connection. But not worked. I am using stored procedure to get the records and it was executed with in 3 secs. Very urgent give me any solution.

I have also tried by adding following code also.

da.SelectCommand.CommandTimeout = 0



Error message when starting reportserver and reports on localhost


 Hi ,

I am getting the following error when trying to start 1. http://localhost/ReportServer and 2. http://localhost/Reports.



Server Error in '/ReportServer' Application.

Failed to access IIS metabase.

Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code.

Exception Details: System.Web.Hosting.HostingEnvironmentException: Failed to access IIS metabase.

The process account used to run ASP.NET must have read access to the IIS metabase (e.g. IIS://servername/W3SVC). For information on modifying metabase permissions, please see http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=267904.

Source Error:

An unhandled exception was generated during the execution of the current web request. Information regarding the origin and location of the exception can be identified using the exception stack trace below.

Stack Trace:

Unknown error - Site usage reports not displaying - 2007 environment


Please can you help out in this issue as this is something critical.  Thanks much in advance.


when user clicks site usage reports (site actions > site settings) displays error as unknown error, and user is admin for the site.


This is on particular site. This problem is only for one user and rest of the users able to get the reports when hits on site usage reports.


I have checked with user . he is getting same problem on other browsers as well.


as pat of investigation we have migrated this site to other environment and asked user to che

SSRS 2005 Error after uploading new reports


I have been developing reports using BIDS 2005 and deploying them to a report server on my development machine.

These reports can be called succesfully from both the report manager and my asp.net website.

Everything has been working fine.

Some time back some early versions of the reports were deployed to a test server in order that they could be tested away from the development machine. The reports processed successfully.

Today I have uploaded a number of completed reports (using Report Manager) to the test server and am getting an error message for each one when I try to run it direct from Report Manager.

The message is: "An error has occurred during report processing Common Language Rutime detected an invalid program"

I've been trying to resolve this for a few hours now and am getting nowhere. Google has thrown up some finds on the error message but these seem to refer to people having issues with the compilation of large methods or forms with a very high number of controls.

I can't see this being appropriate because most of the reports are relatively simple and the most complex probably has only 100 different controls.

So I'm at a complete standstill and haven't a clue what to try next.

Has anyone come across this issue and if so how did you resolve it?


When opening the Reports site, I get "A name was started with an invalid character." error


Hello, I am running out of ideas on how to get SSRS to work.  I am trying get this setup with the intention to replace our Crystal Reports server.  Currently I have set up the RS Virtual Directory on a Win XP box.  The ReportServer database sits on another SQL2000 box. 

I can connect to the http://localhost/ReportServer/ on the XP box to display the page the depicts "Microsoft SQL Server Reporting Services Version 9.00.2047.00"  

When I connect to the http://localhost/Reports/, I get this error "A name was started with an invalid character. Error processing resource 'http://leej/Reports/'. Line 1, Position 2"   I checked my IIS Virtual Directory properties for Reports and ASP.NET is set to v2.0.50727.   I also executed "aspnet_regiis.exe -i" in the "C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727" directory.  

Any thought on how to fix this?  I hate to let this blocker deters us from deploying SSRS.



Workflow Reports Error


Whenever I click on any of the workflow reports such as the Activity Duration Report or the Cancellation & Error Report, I receive the following error message.


Report contains no data.   at Microsoft.Office.RecordsManagement.Reporting.Report.Generate(Hashtable query)
   at Microsoft.Office.RecordsManagement.Reporting.ApplicationPages.GenerateReport.Generate(String strReportId)
   at Microsoft.Office.RecordsManagement.Reporting.ApplicationPages.GenerateReport.OnLoad(EventArgs e)
   at System.Web.UI.Control.LoadRecursive()
   at System.Web.UI.Page.ProcessRequestMain(Boolean includeStagesBeforeAsyncPoint, Boolean includeStagesAfterAsyncPoint)


Can someone please tell me what is causing this problem?

After adding filter, data fetch limit error


Alright, so i'm getting the "this page has exceeded its data fetch limit for connected web parts" error.
But it only happens if i add a filter.

Currently I have 6 lists on the page and am using 4 filters, so why can't I add a 5th filter?

Forgot to mention that I added the filters with SharePoint designer 2007

ssrs 2008 reports Datasource error in Test server..


Hi ,

 i Have upgraded my Reports from Report server  VS 2005 to  VS 2008 .

My reports works fine in local, development & test server.

After Ugrading to 2008 it works fine in local server & devlopement serverr.

 When i deployed to Test server i am trying to access my reports i am getting below errors,

 An error has occurred during report processing. (rsProcessingAborted)

Cannot create a connection to data source 'DataSource1'. (rsErrorOpeningConnection) For more information about this error navigate to the report server on the local server machine, or enable remote errors ..

i checked the Datasource conncetion properties..its pointing to correct Test database only..

My reports are windows integrated...

Now it works in srs 2005 developement & test server. For same properties it works in dev server,  it  doesn't works in srs 2008 test server.


Why? Can anyone give me some idea...?


ASP.NetWindows Application  .NET Framework  C#  VB.Net  ADO.Net  
Sql Server  SharePoint  Silverlight  Others  All   

Hall of Fame    Twitter   Terms of Service    Privacy Policy    Contact Us    Archives   Tell A Friend