Here's the scenario:ÃÂ I have a workflow that is assigned (in parallel) to a series of people.ÃÂ I've limited each person's permissions within the Workflor Task listÃÂ to strictly edit by creating a custom permissions level.ÃÂ So nowÃÂ workflow participantsÃÂ are able to Approve the workflow task, but cannot delete the item.ÃÂ ÃÂ However, now, I wish to limit the tasks a user can approve to only the items that are assigned to them.ÃÂ
I assumed that the (Workflow Task List > List Settings > Advanced Settings > ÃÂ Item Level Permissions > Edit access:ÃÂ Specify which items users can edit) set to 'Only their own' would do the trick, but that setting doesn't seem to impose any limitation on which task item a user can edit.ÃÂ
Oddly enough, when I set the (Read access:ÃÂ Specify which items users can read) to 'Only their own' I loose access to every single item in the task list; even the ones that are assigned to me.ÃÂ What gives?ÃÂ I thought maybe SharePoint's interpretation of 'their own' possession was linked to who created the item instead of who it's assigned to, but these 2 behaviors don't seem to support that theory at all.ÃÂ
Is this a bug in SharePoint because I'm stumped.
View Complete Post