.NET Tutorials, Forums, Interview Questions And Answers
Welcome :Guest
 
Sign In
Register
 
Win Surprise Gifts!!!
Congratulations!!!


Top 5 Contributors of the Month
david stephan

Home >> Articles >> SharePoint >> Post New Resource Bookmark and Share   

 Subscribe to Articles

Site Closure and Deletion in SharePoint 2013

Posted By:Lakshmanan       Posted Date: April 27, 2014    Points: 200    Category: SharePoint    URL: http://www.dotnetspark.com  

This article describes site closure and deletion feature in SharePoint 2013. Using this feature, you can specify what can happen when the site is closed and deleted
 

This article describes the site closure and deletion feature in SharePoint 2013. Using this feature, you can specify what can happen when the site is closed and deleted. Many interesting stuff like reminder emails to the site collection admin, follow up emails, postpone the site closure can be done through this functionality.

Let's see the procedure to do the site Closure and Deletion activity.

Step 1:

Under "Gear Settings" -> "Site Collection Administration"-> "Site Polices".

Site Polices

Step 2:

A new Site Policy will open. 

Input the name of the policy and Description.

policy and Description

Step 2 (a):

There are three options available to choose from for site Closure and Deletion.
  • Do not close or delete the site automatically
  • Delete sites automatically
  • Close and Delete sites automatically

The following picture shows the list of events attached to the action Delete Sites automatically.

action Delete Sites automatically

Delete

Step 2 (b):

The following picture shows the list of events attached to the action Close and Delete Sites automatically.
  • Close Event
  • Deletion Event
  • Site closed date
  • Send an email notification to site owners this far in advance of deletion
  • Send follow-up notifications every
  • Owners can postpone imminent deletion for:

action Close and Delete Sites 

Step 3:

Once you define the polices, you can associate that to the site closure and deletion features.

  • Navigate to Site Settings.
  • Select Site Closure and Deletion

Site Closure and Deletion 

Step 4:
  1. Site closure and Deletion page opens.
  2. Choose the policy that is applicable for you.

Choose the policy 
That's it. Now you have defined Site Closure and Deletion in SharePoint Environment.v


 Subscribe to Articles

     

Further Readings:

Responses

No response found. Be the first to respond this post

Post Comment

You must Sign In To post reply
Find More Articles on C#, ASP.Net, Vb.Net, SQL Server and more Here

Hall of Fame    Twitter   Terms of Service    Privacy Policy    Contact Us    Archives   Tell A Friend